Michael Mills InnovAction Awards Overview

In 2023 the College of Law Practice Management decided to change the awards to focus on innovation supporting Access to Justice. This change struck a real chord with our late and revered former President, Michael Mills, who suggested that we combine the award with a monetary prize ($10,000) and offered to help with the initial funding. In honor of Michael Mills' contribution to the College overall and his leadership on the InnovAction awards, the Board of Trustees renamed the award to the Michael Mills InnovAction Award.

Still recognizing innovation leaders around the world, our Michael Mills InnovAction Awards spotlight extraordinary work specifically around removing barriers to accessing justice systems. The College has always been a trailblazer in our support of access and fairness and the awards are aligned with this long-held commitment and mission.

Show us what can be created when passionate professionals, with big ideas and strong convictions, are determined to make a difference. Each year, we present the Michael Mills InnovAction Award to an advocate for the under-represented within the legal profession who dares to think differently and succeed by doing so.

In keeping with our mission, here are the the program's highlights:  

  • The 2025 Michael Mills InnovAction Award and a $10,000 cash prize will be presented at the College of Law Practice Management Annual Meeting & Futures Conference to one winner. 
  • The winner must be a nonprofit organization [501(c)(3) or 501(c)(6)], a law school, or government agency.
  • All entries must demonstrate how access to justice is at the center of – or is a result of – the innovation. 

If you have any questions about the program's focus, please email us at [email protected]

Competition Information

  • Competition Opens: September 27, 2024
  • Entry Deadline: December 31, 2024 (no extensions permitted)
  • Entry Fees: 
    • Waived for 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(6) nonprofit organizations, law schools, or government agencies
    • $100 for joint nomination of a for-profit and nonprofit organization

Award Benefits

Eligibility & Judging Criteria

Entry Form to Download


If you have any questions about the Michael Mills InnovAction Awards Program, send your inquiry to [email protected]