InnovAction Awards Overview

Discover the New Focus of our InnovAction Awards—Access to Justice

Still recognizing innovation leaders around the world, our InnovAction Awards have been refocused to spotlight extraordinary work specifically around removing barriers to access in our justice system. The College has always been a trailblazer in our support of access and fairness. Now the InnovAction Awards are aligned with this long-held commitment and mission.

Show us what can be created when passionate professionals, with big ideas and strong convictions, are determined to make a difference. Each year, we present the InnovAction Awards to the upstanders within the legal profession who dare to think differently and succeed by doing so.

In keeping with our mission, we have made several changes for 2023. Here are the highlights:  

  • The 2023 InnovAction Award and a $10,000 cash prize will be presented at the Futures Conference September 21-22 in Austin, TX, to one winner .
  • The winner must be a non-profit (501(c) 3), a law school, or government agency
  • All entries must demonstrate how access to justice is at the center of – or is a result of – the innovation. 

We've made the hard decision to discontinue The InnovActor and Rising Star categories this year. If you have any questions about the new focus, please contact Bill Garcia or Elonide Semmes at [email protected]

Competition Information

  • Competition Opens: March 17, 2023
  • Entry Deadline: May 12, 2023
  • Entry Fees: 
    • Waived for 501(c)(3) organizations]
    • $100 for joint nomination of a for-profit and nonprofit organization

Award Benefits

Eligibility & Judging Criteria

Entry Form to Download


If you have any questions about the InnovAction Awards Program, send your inquiry to [email protected] or call: 

William (Bill) Garcia
InnovAction Chair
Thompson Hine LLP

Debbie O’Connell
COLPM Administrator
College of Law Practice Management